top of page
  • Writer's pictureGwen Marie

[Converse] The Cosplay of Anthea Lisbeth



The week of International Cosplay Day (August 28) has just wrapped up. But, we can't miss recollecting the wonderful cosplayers we know. Happy belated "Cosplay Day" to cosplayer Anthea Lisbeth (29), from Carrara, Italy!


Last January, Anthea Lisbeth shared what cosplay meant to her. Know more why the greatly inventive cosplayer highlighted Undertaker (Black Butler), My Hero Academia, and Kisshu (Tokyo Mew Mew) in our interview below!


INTERVIEW

Q1: What, how, and why were you influenced to engage in cosplaying?

A: I've always liked to make up like cartoon or film characters, and recreate scenes that I liked most. But the very first time that I've thought about doing cosplay has been 6 years ago, at my first comic fair. So, the following year I've started my adventure.


Q2: What title and which character has inspired you the most?

A: I like those series and characters a little bit complex and mysterious.


I love those characters of which you don't know everything till the end or after. Those who have "a dark side" that moves them.


Q3: Which character is most likely to make you always vitalized and what does the character mean to you?

A: He's Undertaker, a shinigami (or God of death) from Kuroshitsuji.


He was my first "serious" cosplay, and today again I play him in comic fairs. This cosplay gives always many satisfactions, and I'm always trying to improve it.


Q4: Please share any remarkable story of your cosplay memories and your afterthoughts about it.

A: One of my favorite memories belongs to my first time at "Lucca Comics". I was playing Undertaker, and while I was walking through city walls two girls, dressed as Kuroshitsuji' s characters, called me from far.


"Undy, Undy" they screamed through the crowd.


They got near me, and asked to join the Kuroshitsuji's cosplay gathering. I've accepted, and I've spent great part of the day with lots of beautiful people. We've made photos, joked and put on stage some anime scenes. I think that that's the beauty of cosplay: it unites people, even if they don't have met before.


Q5: If you were in a series you like, what would it be and what would you do in it?

A: Now I'd like to be a villain character in Boku No Hero Academia (My hero academia).

My code name would be Frostgeist, and with my power I could control the darkness and the frost.


Q6: A character that highly resembles you?

A: Frankly I don't know which character resembles mostly to me. I feel a special affinity with all of them, and I try always to put something of me in the performance. After all I think that all my cosplays resemble to me.


Q7: Name the top 3 important things that you gained from the sphere of cosplay.

A: Three important things that I've gained from cosplay are: self-esteem, lots of friends, and the sensation to belong to a group.


Before cosplay, I was a little bit introverted and sometimes I doubt about my skills while now I'm more self confident and more conscious about myself.


I've also met many new friends and when you make friends you feel to belong to a group.


Q8: Along the way, are there difficulties you can tell us? How do you deal with it?

A: I think that one of the greatest difficulties for a cosplayer is relating with people who don't understand his passion.


Maybe it doesn't seem, but it may happen that a cosplayer is being teased and it could be very frustrating.


I'm so lucky because my friends and parents support me, and I wish the same for all cosplayers and artists.


Q9: What is cosplay for you, is it a passion or hobby or both?

A: For me cosplay is both passion and hobby.


A passion because I could do it all day without getting tired. A hobby because I like to build weapons and accessories for my cosplays.


But for me it's also a kind of art: when you dress like a character, you become and act like him/her, just like an actor and his role in a film.


Q10: Recently, what is your cosplay plan?

A: Right now, I'm in a program to improve all my cosplays.

In free time, I "study" my characters, watching anime episodes and reading manga to learn how they talk and behave.


I make also lots of make-up tests, in search of the perfect one, and I'm making some new accessories like Kisshu's weapons.


I don't know who will be my next character, I know that I want to be better and better.


MESSAGE TO COMRADES

Anthea Lisbeth: Everyone can do cosplay. It doesn't matter if you are a boy, a girl or if you don't look like your favorite character. You can become whoever you want to be.


Look at me: I'm a girl, but I love to do male characters and I don't care if anyone tells me that I can't do boys only because I'm a girl.


Cosplay has only ONE rule: have fun. So do it! Enjoy yourselves.


I also want to thank Gwen Marie and Drealm for giving me the opportunity to share with you my passion, and also for her support. Thank you so much.


To be able to converse with such an impassioned soul is an honor, the elucidating feelings you had set out are certainly heartening. Once more, thank you so much Anthea Lisbeth! And we look forward to you next works showcasing your ever-growing artistry!


Please support Anthea Lisbeth and her cosplay journey on:

Instagram: SoulShades_Cos

Facebook Page: Soul Shades Cos


That's it for now. Thank you for reading!

 

Return to MENU home/メニューホームに戻る: https://miraimariedrealm.wixsite.com/yumesekai/


Commentaires


bottom of page