top of page
  • Writer's pictureGwen Marie

[Commentary] A story I want to tell and Do'Ahou's cover of Endless Rain by X JAPAN + Paul Sappiera

Updated: Feb 8, 2021

X JAPAN + Paul Sapiera - Endless Rain cover by Do'Ahou! Performed in Japanese, English, and Filipino (AMAZING)! / 日本語、英語、フィリピン語の歌詞で歌われる (すごい)! Below, I included a commentary.


Do'Ahou: This is our cover of the classic X-Japan power ballad. Adrian - Guitar, M5 - Guitar, Mixing and Mastering, Jayson - Bass, Neil - Vocals and Drum Programming and Lyrics re-arrangement. Excerpts of Filipino and English lyrics are from Paul Sapiera of Rockstar Arkasia. Piano and Strings - MayMstudio: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uESEV3Lqfxk

All instruments recorded at our own homes except for the vocals recorded at Tiny Music Studio."

It can be watched on YouTube too: https://youtu.be/BxouXISGnSU


What a wonderful voice and instrument performance, right?! Radiating brilliance and heartfelt vehemence, I was surprised that my uncle, the cool vocalist in this video, and his band made another music cover. To top it all, once again it involves X JAPAN, my favorite ୧(≧▽≦)୨. I really love X!


The cover band used to play plenty of songs by them—the most successful rock band in Japanese history! Please see the covers here. X JAPAN Philippines fan page also shared the newly-arrived video brimming with virtuosity and wholehearted emotion! With 45,373 YouTube views collected, it's thinkable that Do'Ahou's cover of the Samurai X anime song "1/3 no Junjou na Kanjou (1/3 Pure Heart Emotion)" by Siam Shade is the most famous one that they did, you may also see it here .


Indicated on their Facebook page bio "Do'Ahou is an anime/J-Rock cover happy metal 99-hit combo breaking band, heavily influenced with 80's metal, punk and some ballads as well". They weren't active for many years and now they're back into it. I became a fan of Japanese music at the age of 8, because my uncle shared the wonders of Japanese music (J-Pop and J-Rock) to me and my mom. Gladly, I have another story to tell you.


Do you remember the Filipino-dubbed Japanese anime shows by Hero TV (2005-2018)? How could we ever forget, right? It's the first and all Tagalog-dubbed anime channel in the Philippines—a well-known TV channel created by ABS-CBN's narrowcast arm Creative Programs Inc. I remember I watched on the TV my uncle's performance in Hero TV's event "Summer Splash" on May 5, 2006 with the said cover band back then, so I searched for some old videos on the internet. Recently, I was able to meet him again and so I told him that I watched a lot of their old videos. Amid the busyness, I even showed it to him on the TV screen (lol). That day, for 6 hours non-stop my uncle and I talked about and watched a great variety of stuff—mainly Japanese music, new bands and soloists. Perhaps, the lengthy exchanging of stories also became one of the motivations and that's why this new cover happened? It's just exciting to know. Hopefully, everyone sees this genius cover of the most awe-inspiring, monumental, and best-loved X Japan!


Other Do'ahou covers are posted in their Facebook and Youtube, please check them out ;).

Comments


bottom of page