top of page
  • Writer's pictureGwen Marie

[Write-up] Ginto't Pilak: Hidilyn Diaz, the first Filipino Olympic gold medalist!

Updated: Oct 27, 2021

This write-up was featured in INQUIRER.NET via InqPOP!. View here.

"Is she that person I had read in the book?" Suddenly, I rushed to the front of the bookshelf. My body felt the abrupt chills as I remembered she really is the protagonist of the Anvil picture biography piece named Ginto't Pilak. The title, in Filipino, means gold and silver. Hidilyn Diaz co-wrote it with Eugene Evasco, Noel Ferrer as the interviewer, and Tristan Yuvienco as in charge of the illustration.


Before, I chose her story as a writing reference as I knew it will cause me true inspiration, and so I had the earlier chance to hold it in my hands while uncovering the humble beginnings of the iron-willed personality!


Hardships in the form of poverty, abusive remarks, and most especially gender stereotypes befell her athlete journey; but despite it, here is another huge success. A long journey was traveled, CONGRATULATIONS to Hidilyn Diaz who ranked #1 in the Olympics Tokyo 2020 Women's 55kg Weightlifting on July 26, 2021. The first-ever Filipina Olympic medalist then is now the Philippines' first ever Olympic GOLD medalist!


With the remarkable achievement known nationwide and hopefully, worldwide soon, surely the amount of people curious about her life and ambition has increased. That's why, as a starter I recommend this to be read by everyone. Ginto't Pilak is available for 99 pesos only! It can be bought on the following:


Considering the phenomenon, the item could be possibly out of stock now. Nevertheless, they will possibly restock.


Get yours soon and cherish the sense of Filipino pride more than ever!


That's it for now. Thank you for reading!


 

Return to MENU home/メニューホームに戻る: https://miraimariedrealm.wixsite.com/yumesekai/


Comments


bottom of page